Celestial creatures dwell on the upper planes, the realms of light, and good. Although they bear semblance to beings found on the Material Plane. However, they are more beautifully adorned than their earthly folks. Celestial creatures often come in metallic colors usually silver, gold, or platinum.

They spend their lives mainly in the upper plain and has little to do with the Material plane. However, they sometimes come to the Material plane in case of business or to intervene in their proceedings. Many of them are the servants of deities, employed as messengers or agents in the mortal realm and throughout the planes. Celestials are good by nature, so the exceptional celestial who strays from a good alignment is a horrifying rarity.

Types of Celestials

The DND celestial race are grouped into


Angels are a powerful race of creatures created by good-aligned Gods. They also referred to as ‘aasimon’ are immortal, winged beings empowered by the gods who they revere. Angels that committed evil acts or transgressed so to say act became an outcast and was no longer necessarily bound to be a good creature. These angels now pose threat and do all that is in their power to stand to the angels that stand for the light, truth and fairness.

Abilities: Your Strength, Constitution, and Charisma scores all increase by 1.

Size: Angels are the same size as humans. Your size is Medium.

Speed: Your base walking speed is 30 feet.


Not to be confused with the similarly named elemental archons, celestial archons were personifications of law and good. They had a strict hierarchy and were consistently at odds with fiends, particularly demons.

Abilities: At will – aid, continual flame, detect evil, message. Caster level 6th.

Size: Medium size.

Speed: A hound archon’s base land speed is 40 feet.

Automatic Languages: Celestial. Bonus Languages are Common, Draconic and Infernal.


They are animal-featured celestials who failed their duties. Guardinals were powerful outsiders of neutral good alignment native to the House of Nature.

Abilities: Your Wisdom score increases by 1.

Size: Your size depends on the sub-race which you choose.

Speed: Your base walking speed depends on the sub-race you choose.


Eladrin is similar in height to humans. They are slim, and even the strongest look simply athletic rather than muscular. They have the same range of complexions as humans, though they are more often fair than dark.

Abilities: Intelligence, and either Dexterity or Charisma

Size: Medium

Speed: 6 squares


Looking at the list of monsters, it seems that the Conjure Celestial spell really act on three possible creatures:

Pegasus (CR 2)

Couatl (CR 4)

Unicorn (CR 5—requires spell slot 9)

As far as this spell lacking versatility is concerned, remember that versatility is not the only measure of power. (Power is power.) For example, the 6th-level spell Planar Ally can summon pretty much anything, but the caster has no control over it whatsoever. Going outside of the Cleric spell list, the 7th-level spells Mordenkainen’s Sword or Finger of Death are both entirely without versatility. Conjure Celestial, on the other hand, is reliable and controllable.

As far as versatility is concerned, one of the creatures you can summon is the Couatl. The Couatl has 14 different spells, almost all of which it can use multiple times per day. It can also use its Change Shape ability to turn into a bunch of other things. In fact, the Couatl is so ridiculously versatile that I would argue that it inherently makes Conjure Celestial a well and truly versatile spell.

Celestial Resistance

Starting at level ten (10), you gain temporary hit points whenever you finish a short or long rest. These temporary hit points equal the addition of your warlock level and your Charisma modifier. Additionally, choose up to five creatures you can see at the end of the rest. Those creatures each gain temporary hit points equal to the sum of half your warlock level and your Charisma modifier.

Healing Light

At 1st level, you gain the ability to channel celestial energy to heal wounds. You have a pool of d6s that you spend to fuel this healing. The number of dice in the pool equals 1 + your warlock level. As a bonus action, you can heal one creature you can see within 60 feet of you, spending dice from the pool. The maximum number of dice you can spend at once equals your Charisma modifier (minimum of one die). Roll the dice you spend, add them together, and restore a number of hit points equal to the total. Your pool regains all expended dice when you finish a long rest.

Bonus Cantrips

At 1st level, you learn the Light and Sacred Flame cantrips. They count as warlock cantrips for you, but they don’t count against your number of cantrips known.

Radiant Soul

Starting at level 6, your link to the Celestial allows you to serve as a conduit for radiant energy. You have resistance to radiant damage, and when you cast a spell that deals radiant or fire damage, you add your Charisma modifier to one radiant or fire damage roll of that spell against one of its targets.

Searing Vengeance

Starting at level fourteen (14), the radiant energy you channel allows you to resist death. When you have to make a death saving throw at the start of your turn, you can instead spring back to your feet with a burst of radiant energy. You regain hit points equal to half your hit point maximum, and then you stand up if you so choose. Each creature of your choice that is within 30 feet of you takes radiant damage equal to the sum of 2d8 and your Charisma modifier and is blinded until the end of the current turn. This feature is a one-time ability that can only be re-used after a long rest.

Leave a Comment